Taj Mahal Officially Joins New 7 Wonders of the World

Taj Mahal is now Officially a New 7 Wonders of the World. The worldwide effort to find the New 7 Wonders of the World which started in 2000, ended on 07/07/07 with the official declaration at Lisbon. After hectic worldwide campaigning and international voting for the 21 finalists and effort by their countries to get their top monuments to win, the results are out… and the Taj Mahal is now a New Wonder of the World.

Taj MahalThe New 7 Wonders of the World are
Chich’en Itza, Mexico
Christ Redeemer, Brazil
The Great Wall, China
Machu Picchu, Peru
Petra, Jordan
The Roman Colloseum, Italy
The Taj Mahal, India

In a star-studded ceremony featuring musical performances and lots of world dignitaries, the event was hosted by Actresses Hilary Swank and Bipasha Basu and actor Ben Kingsley at the Benfica Stadium in Lisbon, Portugal. There were performances by Jennifer Lopez and Jose Carreras, as well as Dulce Pontes, Chaka Khan, Alessandro Safina and Joaquín Cortés

I have been promoting the Vote for Taj campaign since last year, with a last effort a week back. This is my small contribution towards promoting the amazing Taj Mahal, and I am glad it won. Here are some beautiful photos of the Taj Mahal.