YouTube just introduced a new feature that lets you upload secret, hidden, private videos as unlisted Youtube videos. Now your secret videos can be hosted on Youtube and viewed only by as many people as you want to share your hidden Youtube video.
This means we can now upload more private videos to our recently launched Youtube channelÂ atÂ youtube.com/quickonlinetips and keep them unlisted to release them when we actually want them to go live, or share videos with selected group of people.
Unlisted YouTube Videos
UnlistedÂ videos means that only people who know the link (which you shared with them) can view it. Unlisted videos will not appear in YouTube search results, your channels, or Browse pages.Â To view an unlisted video, you don’t need a YouTube account, and unlike a private video, there is no 25 person sharing limit.
Can anyone view my unlisted video? Remember the video is unlisted, but has a publicly accessible url for people who know the video link. So if your friend whom you trustingly shared the link, decides to post the link on their blog, anyone who can click that link can see that video. So if you want your secret video to remain hidden, ensure your contacts are trustworthy and don’t share the link further.
Private YouTube Videos
Are private videos better? If it suits you, instead of making unlisted videos, make them private videos – then only upto twenty five other users who you invite to view the video will be able to see it, and not anymore. Of course the video will not appear on your channel, in Groups, search results, playlists etc.
So basically private videos can be shared with a limited audience – if you want to share videos with all your 200 friends, then unlisted video is the better way. Moreover, once a video is shared via the private URL, it cannot be unshared, so use your 25 invites wisely. Also your contacts need a YouTube account to view private videos.
After logging in to YouTube, to change the settings of the particular video – Click the ‘Info and Settings’ button for the video.
and then choose if you want to make the video private or unlisted. By default, it is public.